News: The Society's new website, esah1852.org.uk has been launched. Changes will be made to this blog over the coming weeks to improve user experience.

Saturday, 18 April 2015

Essex Society for Archaeology and History with the Essex Industrial Archaeology Group: Visit to Langford

 The next visit in the ESAH programme of industrial interest is a guided tour of

Beeleigh Mill on Saturday 25th April at 2:00 pm

Beeleigh Steam Mill, at Langford near Maldon, is a highly significant surviving example of 1840s milling technology. The virtually complete Wentworth compound beam engine remains attached to the unique iron-riveted elephant boiler. In the adjoining room is a cast iron corn mill on the circular principle favoured by millers into the C19th. Alongside the mill are the remains of the docks in which barges from the Chelmer & Blackwater Navigation could be loaded and unloaded. 

There will also be a guided tour of the C12th St Giles Church, Langford where refreshments will be served. The church is unusual in that it has a western apse. For more information about the church click here for the article which was produced when the Society visited Langford in 1906.




Bookings can be made with Dr Graham Gould

No comments: