News: The Society's new website, esah1852.org.uk has been launched. Changes will be made to this blog over the coming weeks to improve user experience.

Sunday, 9 October 2016

Newsletter (Autumn 2016)

Members of ESAH as well as former institutional members of Essex Congress may have been surprised this week to have received a fourth Newsletter this year (NL179).  There is so much happening, especially within the Society, that one was considered essential.
Items this time include:
- From The President, in which Adrian Cord-Birch reflects on the past AGM at Colchester Castle, and the forthcoming Essex Place Names Conference
- the absorption of Essex Archaeological and Historical Congress into ESAH
- The Essex Place Names Project, supported by ESAH
- The Planning System: Making the Case for the Historic Environment
- St Osyth Planning Application Objection
- Britain and Europe in the Bronze Age
- European Route of Industrial Heritage
- The Society Archives: Essex Churches Then and Now
- Stondon Massey rectory
- The Society Archives: Items placed on permanent loan
- Website News
- Family History Open Day at Galleywood, 18 June 2016
- Schoolmasters and Teaching in Seventeenth Century Chipping Ongar
- Judge Sir Nicolas Tindal and 'wager of Battle'
- Three Strange Wonders
- 'A Common Ale-house Haunter and Drunkard'  The scandalous career of John Woolhouse, Vicar of West Mersea 1630-1642
- Restoration of a church monument
- Laindon & District Gas Light Coke and Water Company
- Events in Essex
- Essex Seen From Elsewhere
- Readers Letters
- Book Reviews  

No comments: