News: The Society's new website, esah1852.org.uk has been launched. Changes will be made to this blog over the coming weeks to improve user experience.

Sunday, 10 January 2016

Newsletter (Winter 2016)

Members of the Essex Society for Archaeology and History will have received the latest edition of the Newsletter (Winter 2016, No. 176) this week.  In another 24-page edition, the following topics are covered:
- From the President: Adrian Corder-Birch reviews recent events held by the Society, including the Essex Industrial Heritage Fair at Braintree Museum
- The Society's Archives: a progress report
- Essex and Sussex Connections (EIAG)
- John Sadd and Sons Ltd., Builders and Timber Merchants of Maldon
- How Southend and the Royal Hotel came to build an Essex icon
- Colchester Archaeological Group Aerial Photography Project
- The Stour Valley, a Prehistoric Landscape
- The Essex Antiquary Network: John Booth (c.1694-1757)
- Rainham Hall: a note on its reopening taken from The National Trust magazine
- Morant Commemorations Fifty Years Ago
- Creature as a Baptismal Name
- Essex References in Henry Machyn's Journal
- Boydells Farmhouse, Wethersfield
- Events: EERIAC Conference, 11 June 2016
- News from Elsewhere: former State Cinema, Grays, on Heritage at Risk Register
- Oliver Rackham, obituary
- Angela Green, obituary
- Book Reviews
-- Essex Excavations
--- The Colchester Archaeologist Vol. 27 (2013/14): the Fenwick Treasure
--- From Demolition to Discovery: The Lost Mansion of Marks Hall
-- England Arise. The People, The King and The Great Revolt, by Juliet Barker

No comments: